Why #FREE doesn’t work anymore

Oh Yet Its Free

I recently touted another author’s books here on my blog and offered one for free to a lucky person who left a comment. The only person who commented was the author who I hosted.

Now, it wasn’t because these aren’t good stories. They are! I’ve read them all. And, they were written by a NY Times and USA Today Bestselling author. So, why did no one have any interest in a free book?

I pondered on that and here’s what I came up with about why FREE doesn’t work anymore.

  1. Every author is more than willing to give away a free book in hopes of a review.
  2. Most everyone who loves to read has a To-Be-Read list a mile long (I know I do)
  3. What good does it do to download another free book in a genre you don’t normally read, when you already have ten in your favorite genre waiting for your attention?
  4. There are thousands upon thousands of free books on Amazon.
  5. Let’s face it. We are bombarded from every direction and have developed a certain numbness to it all.

So, I thought about what does work, and here’s an example. I belong to a book club called the Rave Reviews Book Club and they have regular Blog Talk Radio interviews with Indie Authors. This morning, I had a chance to listen in to one author’s interview and it was so intriguing, that I turned off the radio show and downloaded her book, My Wounded Soldier by Diane Munier. 

rrbc coverMy Wounded Soldier

Now, I ask myself, “When are you going to have time to read this one?”

Good question. Between working thirty hours per week, writing my own stories, this blog, a blog for the Texas Musicians Museum, Proofreading for the Tx Assoc of Authors, submitting articles to two different music magazines, supporting my fellow #RRBC members and squeezing in time for some live music and playing with the grandkids, I don’t know the answer. All I know is that the story was so compelling I had to get it and it WILL move to the top of my TBR list. Sorry, everyone else who has to wait longer for a review from me.

I’d love to hear your own theories about why #FREE isn’t an effective marketing tool anymore. Or, why you think it is.

 

7 thoughts on “Why #FREE doesn’t work anymore

  1. Reblogged this on Rhani DChae and commented:
    I Came Upon This on Twitter, and as an author who has given away many copies of my books, it definitely gave me something to think about. I would also like to hear any input on this subject.

    Like

  2. I have never downloaded a book because it is free. I have downloaded free books that looked interesting. I totally agree with you that the free designation has diminishing value. I suspect the free promotions are to move the stats and not necessarily to get people to read the books. Good post, Jan and thanks to Rhani for the reblog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

