True Fan! Dolly Shine

Anyone who reads my blog knows how much music is a huge part of my life. And if you don’t know, you will soon figure it out. Music is more than a Universal language to me. It represents family – a music family that I have come to love, admire and respect.

hoedown

Writing for Buddy Magazine, the original Texas music magazine, I have the opportunity to discover new artists, their music, and what makes them tick.

I love doing the CD reviews as much as I love doing book reviews for books I read and enjoy, because I get to tell potential listeners/readers my thoughts.

That being said, I was asked to review a new CD by the Texas-based group, Dolly Shine.

Wow!! That word isn’t strong enough, but it’s all I’ve got.

Walkabout

 

If the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and Ray Wylie Hubbard had a love child, it would be called Dolly Shine!

High energy, raw, brilliantly delivered lyrics and musical arrangement is what you will find on Dolly Shine’s new Indie CD, Walkabout. From the first song, “Blackbird” to the last, “Old Flame,” I enjoyed this musical journey.

What a talented group of young men who all contribute to the writing and playing of their music, telling of self-discovery, heartbreak and hard truths. Wes Hall, plays the fiddle with intensity and precision. Zack McGinn is lead vocalist and writer of a large percentage of their songs. Ben Hussey plays bass and is also writer and co-writer on two songs. Jerrod Flusche (also a writer) and Josh Serrato take credit for the outstanding electric guitar work and Johnny Goodson keeps the back beat going on the drums.

I couldn’t help but hear a touch of Ray Wiley Hubbard’s rockin’ style on “Blackbird.” “Come Out Swingin’” is a song most anyone can relate to; when the old girlfriend shows up at a club and she still has a death grip on your heart. “Closing Time” delivers engaging lyrics, “I love you woman but I hate you/I can’t live with your new way of life.” “Rattlesnake” is making a splash on the music charts and with good reason. It is a toe-tapper with haunting lyrics; “Train whistle blowing, can’t you hear that lonesome sound?” Ben Hussey is co-writer on “Twist the Knife,” a lament to breaking up. Hussey’s “Anywhere Close to Fine” is a delivery of hard truth to a country rocking beat. Jerrod Flusche wrote “Snakeskin Boots” and I have to admit the lyrics and song delivery gave me goosebumps. Isaac Hoskins wrote “Hitchhikin” and holds true to its title. Randy Radicke joins Zack on an evocative “Old Flame.”

These talented writers and musicians obviously contribute equally to Dolly Shine. I give this album a big 5 Star review!!

For more on this talented group, visit: Website

 

 

2 thoughts on “True Fan! Dolly Shine

  1. Wow! This sounds like a CD I need to check out. I love good music. Music always did draw you in a way it never did me. I can go days without listening to some but I don’t think you can go more than a few hours, It’s just in your blood.

    I’m so proud of you, sister! You have far more talent than me. Love you!

    Like

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog today, sister. I beg to differ – you have always been the smart one and the one I’ve learned so much from, so I’d say you are WAY ahead of me as far as talent goes. I did truly love this CD, and I loved that all of the members of the group contribute to the writing of the songs. I’ll have to share their music with you next time I see you. 🙂 Love you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

