#RRBC – WRITER RESPONSIBILITIES

resp

With the question posed, I had to give it some serious thought.

So, I decided to see what Webster had to say about the word “Responsible.”

“Answerable or accountable, as for something within one’s power, control or management (often followed by to or for)”

Accountable for my own actions as a writer…

My first and foremost responsibility, as a writer, is to myself. As with any other facet of life,  honesty with, and respect for, myself is #1. My writing voice is unique. It is my responsibility to use that voice to tell a story.

resp3

Secondly, my responsibility is to my story and characters. It is my job to get inside their heads and let them tell me what I need to know. If I don’t do this, then I am never going to bring my reader along for the ride. The words will fall flat on the pages.

resp6

The third part of my responsibility as a writer is in supporting and uplifting others. We are all on this journey together. It isn’t a competition to see who gets to the top first.

Writers are as diverse as the stars in the heavens or snowflakes that drift to earth in winter.

Many times, a writer’s existence is rather lonely. Friends and family often cannot relate to the way we think of our characters as real people. We may be labeled as eccentric or obsessed.

We have a strong need to belong to a community who supports, promotes, encourages and lifts each other.

resp2

For me, The Rave Reviews Book Club is that community. This is not the only organization I belong to or strongly believe in, but it is the most supportive of any I have found. I’ve never been part of any other group that will openly share my books…even create attractive graphic designs to hawk my stories.

book-club-badge-suggestion-copy

But, there’s a catch. Nothing in life is a free ride and as a member of the Rave Reviews Book Club, my responsibility is to support, promote and propel others.

Does this sound like something that you’ve been searching for as a writer?

Not only is this community made up of authors, but also readers, editors, book designers, bloggers, radio broadcasters, and publishers .

It is truly a WHOLE community of support.

I invite you to take a close look at The Rave Reviews Book Club and all that it embodies.

If you feel this is a good fit for you, join. But, don’t expect to sit back and do nothing. It is your responsibility to get involved, support others and enjoy the support you receive.

If you decide to join, please say I sent you.  – JAN SIKES, AUTHOR

resp4

17 thoughts on “#RRBC – WRITER RESPONSIBILITIES

  1. Wow, Jan, this is a lovely post. I really like how you describe character development and why the writer needs to “get in their heads.” Beautifully captured!!

    Like

  2. Nice perspectives you shared. Agreed. As a writer, you have a responsibility to stay true to yourself as well as true to your characters. I suppose helping others could be a responsibility, but more as a supportive person in the creative field than a writer.

    I think another thing I’d like to mention is responsibility towards your audience. Since the audience supports the writer, a bit of attention to their needs and wants is fair. But yeah, of course keeping in line with your own voice. And we can’t always bend to the will of the audience (writing is a platform to express personal views or creativity, after all). So yeah. 🙂 Nice article. Was good reading it.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your great comment. Definitely, as writers, we have a responsibility to our audience to provide the best quality, storyline and delivery that we are capable of!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

