The Secret Schedules of Great Authors

This is such great content, I have to share! Nonnie Jules shared it on her blog and I found it to be a great insight! Hope you do as well.

A Writer's Path

by Andrea Lundgren

As I writer, I’m always curious about how other writers write. And much of what I’ve read on this subject is daunting: write every day, write even when you don’t feel like it, write first thing in the morning when your energies are at their peak, etc. Hemingway was a great proponent of early morning writing, starting at six, and even Stephen King’s excellent thoughts in On Writing are a bit daunting:

“Like your bedroom, your writing room should be private, a place where you go to dream. Your schedule–in at about the same time every day, out when your thousand words are on paper or disk–exists in order to habituate yourself, to make yourself ready to dream just as you make yourself ready to sleep by going to bed at roughly the same time each night and following the same ritual as you go.”

View original post 859 more words

4 thoughts on “The Secret Schedules of Great Authors

  1. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing the article. Makes you realise that there are several ways to approach art/writing and everybody has their own sort of thing that inspirez them. The cow inspiration thing was funny yet interesting.

    Like

  2. Very interesting, Jan. Unless I’m traveling, I write something everyday because I’m a firm believer in keeping my characters and story close. Some days it’s just a page and other days it’s ten. But even a paragraph lets you stay connected to your story. I had to laugh about Gertrude Stein. How funny. I can totally relate to Stephen King. Get into a routine of writing at the same time each day. That really works for me.

    I hope you get tons of inspiration today and write those ten pages. Love you bunches!

    Like

Leave a Reply

