Book Release – C.S. Boyack #RRBC

Today, it is with great pleasure that I host Author, C.S. Boyack’s latest book release The Enhanced League!

Thanks for inviting me over today, Jan. I’m here to talk about my newest release, The Enhanced League. It’s a collection of short stories and anthems that span one year in a fictional baseball league.

I keep a living document about topics for a blog tour, and an excerpt is one of the topics. It’s always tricky choosing an excerpt because you don’t want to introduce spoilers for those who may run out and buy the book. This one gives you a bit of the pomp associated with this league.

***EXCERPT ***

I threw about twenty right down the middle; all changeups to spare the bullpen catchers. It was more about loosening up than working on location at this point. I slapped my glove on my leg and headed for the dugout.

“Not you, Warren.” It was the pitching coach.

“Why not?”

“Part of the show. You get to ride in the bullpen car for your intro. You’ll be the only starter who’s ever ridden in it.”

Jesus, these people love a show. It’s more like professional wrestling than I realized. I made my way down to the tunnel.

The bullpen car was a full blown custom hot rod. It had a huge Mountie hat atop the open sides, and a chromed engine block with six chrome intake stacks. The body was the traditional red of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The field announcer named off the starting players for both teams. Boos echoed as the Las Vegas Gamblers were introduced.

The announcer continued, “Working the third base line tonight, Traci Goodbody. Roaming the infield is Daisy Farmer, and your crew chief tonight, working the first base line is Ms. Lita Von Strychnine.”

The butterflies decided to swarm when the national anthem started. O Canada! Terre de nos aïeux, Ton front est ceint de fleurons glorieux

I closed my eyes and took some deep breaths.

“Better climb in, and hang onto the straps.” It was my driver, but I’d never met him before.

Machines filled the tunnel with a thick fog. The stadium went silent and spotlights waved back and forth occasionally hitting the tunnel. The stadium announcer said, “Roger Warp-speeeeed WARREN!” The thundering sounds of It’s a Long Way to the Top, by AC/DC echoed through the stadium, complete with bagpipes.

The bullpen car roared to life with a sound that would shame most Harley Davidsons. We crept toward the opening, and the driver hit the lights and siren. Red and blue alternated across the fog, and the crowd screamed above the siren.

We launched from the tunnel and turned onto the warning track around the outfield. The crowd was on its feet, and I reminded myself to shut my jaw which had fallen open. No ancient gladiator would have seen a sight any more outrageous.

We toured around the outfield and past the visitors’ dugout with sirens and lights all the way. My driver deposited me beside the mound, where Montes was waiting. “You ready, man?” He asked.

“Um, yeah.” I tipped my hat to the crowd, then glanced at Daisy Farmer in her booty shorts and cropped umpire top. “Looks like the players aren’t the only thing enhanced here.”

Montes slapped me lightly on the cheek. “Head in the game, jefe.”

“Right, let’s go.”

Von Strychnine stalked down toward the plate and called, “Batter up.”

***

image2

 

Blurb: The Enhanced league is a collection of short stories and anthems centered around a year in a fictional baseball league. It has a slight science fiction background. This league has a lot more pomp than you might be used to, and nobody seems to care if the players use performance enhancing drugs.

Stories involve existing heroes, up and comers, and falling stars. While there are the obvious stories that take place on the field of play, there are also human interest stories that take place around the baseball gyrations. These stories involve scouting, trades, ruthless business decisions, and even relationships.

I enjoyed researching and bringing you The Enhanced League, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. — CB

Purchase link 

image1

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

Craig

FOLLOW AUTHOR, C.S. BOYACK:

BLOG   CRAIG’S NOVELS   TWITTER   GOODREADS    FACEBOOK    PINTEREST

33 thoughts on “Book Release – C.S. Boyack #RRBC

  1. Enjoyed the post, Jan — and my best wishes to Craig. The Enhanced League sounds wild and fun, and the excerpt was intriguing–like no baseball game I have ever been to, highlighting the fun of fiction.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

